Home > gaming, Uncategorized > Best Series of this Generation: Bioshock

Best Series of this Generation: Bioshock

Welcome To Rapture

Welcome To Rapture

 

When you start up Bioshock, you’ll know in the first 10 minutes of the game how you’ll feel about it. The plane crash and subsequent discovery of Rapture is one of the most impressive opening minutes of any game out there today. If the underwater ride through the Any Rand inspired city gone wrong doesn’t captivate you and urge to want to explore all of what the game has, you may not hold Bioshock in the same esteem as the throngs of people, like myself, who do.

You may still enjoy the game. The gameplay is fun, mixing traditional FPS elements, magic powers (known as plasmids) and environment manipulation along with some light RPG elements to make an enjoyable combat system that I think most gamers would enjoy. But gameplay is not what makes this title the masterpiece that it is. What makes this game so special is the atmosphere that oozes from the screen from the minute you put it in the disc tray until the end screen (although it may take a break during the final boss fight.)

Also, while the game isn't necessarily a horror game there are definitely some creepy moments in the first couple of hours of the game.

Also, while the game isn’t necessarily a horror game there are definitely some creepy moments in the first couple of hours of the game.

I don’t really want to tell you guys anything about the story of the Bioshock games, I feel like that is something that you need to discover on your own. I will say that if you have any affinity for good story or classic art-deco design you own to yourself to give the game a try. Bioshock 2, kind of like Dragon Age 2, is often viewed negatively but only because it still takes place in Rapture and many felt that exploring that world for the first time is what made the original so great. I for one enjoyed the second game and seeing that both titles are dirt cheap now I really don’t see why you shouldn’t pick it up as well. Now there is even a combo pack that gives you both games and DLC for only $40, which is indeed a circus of value. Now I’m off to go play through these two games before Infinite comes out.

P.S. The restraint to use a “would you kindly?” reference was almost too much to bear.

  1. January 29, 2013 at 5:43 am

    Bioshock is one of those games on the list of creeps-me-out-titles that I should man up and actually play.

  2. January 29, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    I really liked Bioshock 1, and I also really enjoyed Bioshock 2 despite what everyone’s rant about it being the “worse” of the two. I just saw the second game it as another story within that universe, which is amazing, and I can’t wait for Bioshock Infinite either.

    Have you played any of the DLCs for Bioshock, I was wondering are they all for Multiplayer or are there single player DLC? I was thinking of picking the Ultimate Rapture edition since I lent out my original copies of B1 and B2 and I have a feeling I’ll never see them again. :\

    • January 29, 2013 at 10:23 pm

      I think most of the DLC is multiplayer stuff, that said, I enjoyed the multiplayer of Bioshock 2. not great by any means, but being able to use plasmids in deathmatch is kinda cool. The one DLC that is story based is called MInerva’s Den. Haven’t played it myself, but supposedly it absolutely brilliant and many people enjoyed it more than the main game.

      • January 29, 2013 at 11:25 pm

        Ah Minerva’s Den, that’s the one I’ve been hearing about. I may have to check out that DLC then. Thanks for the info!

      • January 29, 2013 at 11:26 pm

        no problem 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

