Home > gaming > The God of War: Ascension multiplayer is……. exactly what I expected it to be.

The God of War: Ascension multiplayer is……. exactly what I expected it to be.

GodofWarAscension-300x180

I tend to be one to not jump down the throats of developers that put multiplayer in the sequels of games that traditionally single-player affair. I didn’t mind when Dead Space, Mass Effect, or Bioshock got online modes as long as we got a great single-player game (and I think that we for the most part all of these were excellent.) Hell, I even liked some of the multiplayer modes that many gamers complained were “shoehorned in to just to please the COD people.”

Yet when I heard about the upcoming God of War game was introducing a new competitive multiplayer mode, I was exceptionally skeptical. How were they going to make an action hack-and-slash game into a multiplayer game? When I think of the hack-and-slash game, I think of different A.I. type enemies with different abilities that are set that the player needs to adapt to, not players battling each other with similar avatars with similar abilities. How the hell would the guys at Sony Santa Monica make this work?

God

Um… after playing the beta, my answer is: they didn’t.  First off, they changed the control scheme to give us more “depth” in the battle system, yet to me just alienated us who played the first 5 entries in the God of War series. I tried to get past this change of controls and just go enjoy the match that pitted my Zeus team versus the Ares team, until I actually started fighting the other guys. It became apparently that the combat system doesn’t translate to multiplayer despite the control change. I got the sense that both I and my enemy were just button mashing, rather than trying to use the parry dodge system which was iffy at best, which made for a dull experience. Also I learned that if I had to battle against two or more players I might as well put my controller down and make some food because there is no way to survive the onslaught of multiple enemies. I’m not the biggest fan of having to get on chat an organize a team, so I prefer games that allow me to be a teamplayer without having to scream at 12 year olds to get in formations. Overall the feeling I got from this beta was that the developers were forced to add this mode to discourage us from buying the game used and to appeal to the multiplayer junkies.

Now these are just my thoughts on the beta. I played three matches before getting extremely bored and exiting out to do something more exciting (like reading the dictionary or something.) Some people may enjoy it but I feel like those of us who play God of War for the gameplay along with the interesting world design wouldn’t care for the multiplayer. I can’t account for the “dude play God of War its sick and there are tits in it!!!!!” crowd but I feel that most gamers will be turned off this multiplayer game.

What do you think? Do you like multiplayer modes be added? Have you played the beta yet?

  1. January 16, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    I haven’t played the beta yet, and based on your review I’m not sure I want to. I am a big fan of the GoW series, and I want to keep those good memories of the game. Multiplayer certainly can enhance a game, but I agree with you that it doesn’t make sense for some games.

    • January 17, 2013 at 12:01 am

      yea i wouldn’t blame you but maybe it’s just me. I would say try it in the beta and see how it feels (although right now its ps + only) but overall i was bored to tears playing it. hope the single player is fun though

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

