Home > gaming > How do you consume games?

How do you consume games?

 

The rate and capacity in which we consume games (and to a lesser extent other media that requires a lot of time from the audience such as books or TV shows) as always interested me. I have often asked my friends how they play their games, in doing so I discovered that everyone rate and capacity of games varies. To clarify, by rate and capacity I mean how fast they play through games and how many games they play at one time. Some friends diligently played one game to its completion without even looking at another title. Others (like myself for the most part) would play buffet of games at one time, playing a variety of genres and even multiple games in a series at once.

This is pretty much me and games

This is pretty much me and games

For example right now I am Play Persona 4 Arena, Xcom: Enemy Unknown, Empire: Total War, Shin Megami Tensei: Nocture and The Last Story all at once. This doesn’t even include games like Borderlands 2 and Skyrim that I will go back to every now and then to play a bit and then forget about them for a couple of weeks. I have always play in this smorgasbord-esqe style as long as I can remember, and growing up I assumed that all played like me. Yet now after talking to other people, both hardcore gamers and casual players, I realized that I am in the minority. It seems that most people in both groups will play one or two games at once and play them to completion or satisfaction before going to another title. There are some that I found that are some like me, but the capacity for games vary greatly from anywhere between 2-5 games at once.

Personally I believe that since my memory has always been pretty good, I have never had a problem with keeping up with several stories in my mind at once which allowed me to play multiple games at once. Yet still I have been trying to become more of a marathoner (especially in rpgs) in my gaming because it allows me to complete games faster.

What type of gamer are you? DO you marathon games? Savor one? Or do you play a Las Vegas Buffet style with the same amount of guilt gorging yourself in Sin City?

Categories: gaming Tags: ,
  1. January 15, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    My play style is similar to yours. Invariably, I switch around between multiple games. In the past month, I’ve switched between Final Fantasy IX, Kingdom Hearts 3D, Assassin’s Creed Revelations, and The Last Story. I keep trying to stick to one and finish it before returning, but then a lull in the excitement comes, and I transfer my attention to something else.

    • January 15, 2013 at 7:47 pm

      Yeah plus things like the steam sales and Playstation plus games make it even harder for me to stay on track with one title. There are so many different games I want to test out that I get side tracked easily

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

