Home > gaming > Best Series of this Generation: Dragon Age

Best Series of this Generation: Dragon Age

Were starting a new series called “Best game of this Generation.” As the title suggest, were going to each day post what our favorite games of this console generation. We tried only include games that began in this generation so this can be a buyer’s guide for anyone who just bought a current console.

Dragon Age

At first glance, the Dragon Age series seems to be nothing more than a rip off of the Tolkien lore. Yes there are elves, dwarfs and walking tree people; and yes there is a orc-like race that is on the war path to destroying the world. But when you look bit deeper, you see a rich world with engaging characters that, in my opinion, rivals that of Middle-Earth. Dragon Age: Origins introduced Ferelden to us and threw us into the role of a Grey Warden tasked with stopping the all consuming blight of darkspawn.The characters are what made this game for me (Alistar the bitch not-withstanding)

and the intriguing politics and old school RPG mechanics glued me to my tv for the 100 hr+ duration of Origins. The Awaking expansion pack added even more hours of RPG fun, plus a complex and convulted side story (can anyone explain the Architect to me?)

Unlike most fans I enjoyed the much maligned Dragon Age II, despite the same map use and the singular setting of the city of Kirkwall. Sure it isn’t as good as the Origins but, by the Maker, if it isn’t a great and fun game on its own. I liked the new more vibrate graphical look and visceral combat. The story did lack the epicness of the original but I applaud Bioware for trying to tell a more personal story rather than rehash another Blight story. Just wish there was a better romance option in DA II, I choose Isabela because she wasn’ t a child (Merill) or a man; and I feel like I still need to physically take a shower.

Somehow Bioware missed the opportunity to have a DLC to find the magical penicillin to clear whatever she left on Hawke’s junk.

  1. September 21, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    I agree that the Dragon Age lore differs from Tolkien and offers something very unique. It’s one of my favorite in-game worlds. And like you, I enjoyed DA2! It certainly wasn’t perfect, but I enjoyed it and even played through it twice, which is saying something. =)

    • September 22, 2012 at 4:23 am

      Yeah, I never quite understood the hatred that DA 2 got. Like I said I think it is inferior to the first, but is in no way a terrible game. I’ve been meaning to get back an replay it but first I gotta beat DA:O again and that takes foooooooorrrrrevvvveeerrrrrrr

  2. September 21, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    I could never get into the Dragon Age series, god how I tried though, I will give you that the story was pretty good and fresh and definitely in line with what you could expect from Bioware but for me I just couldn’t get past the voice acting or the controls (the camera was definitely not my friend that’s for sure). DA 2 did look a lot better and I have to admit the acting was better too but for some reason I just couldn’t get far into it, probably had something to do with not being able to use a controller on the PC version, or I’m missing something, either way it’s still not the worst series I’ve played, but I’m not sure if I personally would label it as one of the best of a generation.

    • September 22, 2012 at 1:37 am

      To each his own, I really enjoyed it despite the slow beginning and VO. I’m not saying it’s the number one series started this generation but I think DA is definitely in the top 10.

  3. cyberfemmefatale
    September 22, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    This is the series that got me back into gaming. I basically skipped the gamecube/ps2 generation quite on accident, but after watching a friend play Dragon age on their Xbox360 I knew that I was going to have to get into this generation. It’s definitely in my top 5 titles of this generation!

  4. September 23, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Reblogged this on The EXOTERA.

  5. October 17, 2012 at 11:14 am

    I really enjoyed playing Dragon Age (although unfortunately it got overshadowed for me by Mass Effect.) While it is very similar to Tolkien lore, there are certain parts of the culture that I find to be refreshing and interesting. The elves for example are not the all powerful race in this which I do like (I get tired of humans always being the most obvious underdog in fantasy, and elves always being so tall and perfect.) I also like the whole conflict between mages and the templar.

    I understand why people disliked DA2 as it just didn’t compare to the first in scale. I think they tried too hard to appeal to newer people instead of catering towards the old fans. On the other hand I still feel that people have been too harsh as I still found it to be an enjoyable game once I stopped comparing it to the first. Hopefully DA3 will be better balanced to cater towards both sides of the fanbase.

    Love Alistair & Anders :P.

    • October 17, 2012 at 1:29 pm

      I loved Anders in da: awakening, he was like Nathan Drake if he was a mage, sarcastic and cocky. Yet when he did the whole Justice eating thing in DA 2 and became all brooding I found him a little annoying personally. I just missed the fun Anders 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

